AfricaAfrica is the world’s second-largest and second-most-populous continent. At about 30.2 million km2, including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20.4% of its total land area, and accounts for about 15% of the world’s human population.

The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and various archipelagos and includes 54 fully recognized sovereign states (or countries), nine territories and two de facto independent states with limited or no recognition.

Sadly many parts of Africa are not currently safe for tourists to visit but you can contact Travelserv or the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office website for the latest travel advisory’s, but we can recommend Gambia, Kenya, Mauritius, South Africa and Tunisia as excellent tourist destinations.